Day 1 – primal diet à la Mark’s Daily Apple

Like more than 35% of American adults, I struggle with my weight. I work a sedentary job and I live a mostly sedentary life. I spend the majority of my non-working time on a couch or in a recliner. I eat about 3 meals a day and sometimes I try to make them healthy.

A typical day’s meal

  • Breakfast: Similar to a Bacon, Egg, & Cheese sandwich, my breakfast sandwich is usually either bacon or pork side (non-cured/not-salted almost bacon), fried egg, cheddar cheese, mayo, & sriracha on either an everything bagel or some whole grain bread/toast.
  • Lunch: Leftovers from a previous night’s meal.
  • Dinner: Usually just a meat and some veggies. Sometimes pasta with homemade tomato sauce or butter, garlic, and salt. Followed most nights by a bowl of ice cream or some adult beverages (beer, wine, whiskey).

Over the last 10+ years, I’ve watched my weight climb from 160 to the nearly 200 pounds I weigh in at today.  The weight was slowly added and it wasn’t difficult to ignore. I just kept reassuring myself that it was winter weight or holiday weight or some other excuse for being a few pounds heavier than normal. In the back of my mind, the weight was always going to go away as soon as the season (or other excuse) had passed. Over the years I recognized that the pounds weren’t going away and I looked for some easy fixes. I started exercising daily, but stopped due to back pain, ankle pain, lack of time, or some other excuse.  I cut out fats, but returned to them because . . .they taste good.  I cut out carbs, but returned to them because I like them, they are easy, and they are cheap. And so the cycle goes, I recognize I need to make a change, I make a plan and set out to lose weight, I lose some weight, I revert back to old behaviors, and the weight comes back.

I’m once again ready to lose weight. This time, I will be blogging about my experiences. My cousin pointed me towards Mark’s Daily Apple.  I’m not very familiar with the ins and outs of the Primal Living diet, but the main component seems to be the elimination of carbohydrates, very similar to the Atkins diet. I actually enjoyed (for the most part) and did well on that diet.  Part of what motivated me while on the Atkins diet was watching for and measuring ketosis. Knowing that I was in ketosis gave me positive feedback that I was eating the right things and I was actively burning stored body fat.  I suspect I’ll be able to do the same thing while following the Primal Blueprint.

So here I am, Day 1 learning and following the Primal Blueprint.  I’ve had very few carbs and my head is already foggy and thumping.

Food so far:

  • Breakfast
    • 2 Eggs scrambled (in a buttered pan) with 2 slices of cheddar cheese
    • 1 cup of coffee – black
  • Snack
    • Small handful of cashews
    • small handful of pistachios
    • small handful of pumpkin seeds
    • 1/2 cup of coffee – black

Time to grab some lunch – more updates to come.

Leave a Reply

